Freeze dryer in da house!

ttystikk

Nerd Gone Vertical
Well this weekend we should be trimming and freeze drying some bud. It's my first time and I can't wait. We did start taking the fan leafs off tonight. If anyone has any do's or don'ts for me I would really appreciate it. I'll take some pitchers of before and after. Also can't wait to see the numbers. I'll post the thc numbers with the rest of the test results.
How do you test for THC content?

D

Deleted member 60

Hmmmmm......I wonder how this went? Anyone ever heard of/seen freeze dried bud? It seems like a lot of expense for bud and I'm not sure what the intent is. From what I see with hash...I'm guessing it would come out of the dryer dry/brittle and would then start to absorb moisture from the atmosphere. To retain the dryness you'd have to mylar it/seal it >immediately< with one of their oxygen absorber discs. It'd be a BIG bag of pot though w/no moisture in it. All for $100...LOL. Ahh...legality.

FWIW...My hash comes out dry/brittle but within 10 minutes it starts to turn into a taffy-like consistency. It stays like that for weeks and dries out fully as time goes on...if I don't smoke it all first. The taffy is very good shit...burns very well and melts/bubbles like crazy.

If yer out there let's hear a report on this approach.

H.A.F.

a.k.a. Rusty Nails
@stiickygreen
The Cryo Cure idea is neat but way too baller for me

Maybe someday when I grow up.
Not buying what they are selling. Yes, you speed up drying but that ain't the cure. you cannot speed up the natural degradation of things (like the chlorophyl) for the best smokable flower.

If you are in a commercial setting looking for a way to get fresher product to the masses it has a place. After the time-lapse that all the testing and regulations place between you and fresh dispo flower, it is probably gonna do bettter in that long, mylar cure. It's efficient, but not necessarily better.