Bud Rot and living soil

wierdly

Fungas Gnat
I am new to living soil, I have been growing in it for a little over a year and have my 1st real issue. Not with the soil but with Budrot. I know a enough about Bud rot to know it was from high temps/humidity.Also the most infected plant had a branch split at the main stalk this would give it an easy way in. A few other plants were mildly infected and all the plants were trashed. My problem is now I know the spores are everywhere and I want them gone. This would be easy with my old way of dumping used soil in the backyard and starting over. Now I have some expensive dirt I dont want to throw away. How can I safely treat the soil and be sure to kill all the spores?

H.A.F.

a.k.a. Rusty Nails
I am new to living soil, I have been growing in it for a little over a year and have my 1st real issue. Not with the soil but with Budrot. I know a enough about Bud rot to know it was from high temps/humidity.Also the most infected plant had a branch split at the main stalk this would give it an easy way in. A few other plants were mildly infected and all the plants were trashed. My problem is now I know the spores are everywhere and I want them gone. This would be easy with my old way of dumping used soil in the backyard and starting over. Now I have some expensive dirt I dont want to throw away. How can I safely treat the soil and be sure to kill all the spores?
I'm not a scientist - but where were those spores prior to you damaging the stem?

My understanding is that all of that stuff is pretty much everywhere - like no matter where you live you can do the rice-water and milk thing and pull Lacto-bacillus from the air to make your culture. It's more about creating the perfect storm of environmentals and other circumstances to propagate them.