Best Sour D Cultivar/Strain/Breeder/Seedback?

PuffTheMagic

Super Active Member
I am just getting into growing and really want to grow some Sour Diesel. It was my favorite "strain" back in the day. I am so sick of all these fruity west coast cultivars that are dominating the markets, even on the easy coast right now. I am really confused on the best way to start growing my own killer Sour D. Do I need to track down a clone of the original mother or are there good seeds. I understand a little bit about breeding/genetics and know that if I get a pack of seeds unless the mother was an IBL I am not really guaranteed to get a pheno that was as dank as the original. Am I better off with a pack of regular seeds over feminized and then do some pheno hunting or is there a newer breeder out there that has already done this work to bring back a killer Sour D line? Thanks in advance for the help.

MtRainDog

Blümen Meister
Only Sour D I’ve grown was from HSO. Yield was poop, but the effect was great. Very up, clear/focused, get shit done kinda high. Easy to get those seeds I imagine.

Also sitting on some of H’s Ecsd s1’s and Purple Diesel. Heard good things about both. H’s stardawg corey x ecsd also sounds really nice.

Karma is kinda known for his sour d work, so that’s a good option if you can find them.

quiescent

Super Active Member
I'd choose a couple options with sour, don't put all your eggs in one basket.

If you're just looking for smoke I would say fem or regs don't matter too much. You'd be more likely to find a plant more like the mom in a cross vs an s1. You can find good shit in s1's for sure but they're better off being used as a breeding tool than a way to find a keeper. If you find a plant that's almost identical to the mom in s1s you're theoretically going to have less genetic variability in the next generation of whatever you cross it to.