Just got my new HLG 550 bspec and I already have problems

I only installed it 2 days ago and I already see the top leaves on my Wedding Cake are dying. Does anyone know what's up? I'm new to this led thing.

It's not happening to the other plants tho. Only the WC.

problems 001.JPG

problems 002.JPG

problems 003.JPG

Things I should have mentioned.

The light is running at max power 27" above canopy. I lowered the light to 50% now just in case that was the issue. I hope that was it.

I also moved them from a 450 watt MH to this light. Not sure if that has anything to do with it.

Burned Haze

Really Active Member
Just like putting a plant into direct sunlight outdoors . dimm the light vs move the light away. The light will no more than need to be 30-50% (depending on watts and brand ) in dimm in veg stage , then in flower stage keep dimming it gradually ( key is to gradullay dim it or everything is a shock ) it’s not the heat that gets the plant , they proper light level, vpd , airflow for Co2 ( think of not air for you?)

once you hit a certain point you will need Co2 no matter what or it will not be any benefit for your plants and they can’t input nutes and it will just stress them. The plant needs more c02 when running a light above 800 ppfd. Everything ran under a led needs to be a environment since you are running c02 and higher nute intakes (15-25%) you need to be following vpd as the key to success (if you don’t know what that is, I’ll give ya the link on bottom.

co2 in veg stage 750-1500ppm
c02 in flower 900-1200ppm stop last 1-3 weeks before flower harvest
you need to follow nutes based on Co2 and if a plant looks like it’s deficient or needs more, add more by adding dry amendments or have a separate Rez for them. You can’t have your whole crop ruined . You can’t play god when this is proven sci where Co2 and nutes work together as base

great intro to leds info made by fluence

vpd guide

SoLowDoughLow

Mediocre grower