How late can you lollipop?

Dr. Monty

Green Supremacist
I’m currently half way through week 4 and it’s very noticeable that some lower growth isn’t getting light or has tiny bud sites. I definitely think they should go but this is my first time in flower lol
I was wondering if it’s more harm than good to remove some stuff that is gonna be useless in the end? I’m using LEDs too

treefarmercharlie

🍆
Admin
The consensus is usually that you shouldn’t remove anything after the 3rd week of flower. If you do then you should do it in small steps. If I don’t take as much off as I should, and notice later, then I usually just leave them be. They will usually still mature and harder up but they will just be small. They are a time suck to trim but they will still be fine. I used to just toss them into the trim but I keep them now as long as they have the same density as the larger buds.

DET—PDX

Insanely Active Member
Oh wow I was thinking it’s better to do a lot at once. I guess it makes sense not to put the plant into total shock lol
Week 2-3, strip the bottom 25% of all plants little by little including buds, & Remove inner fan leaves as needed. I remove inners that I know have no future all grow; open the middle of the plants by treating each top, light collecting budsite individually and remove that individual branch bottom 25% depending on location. This also reduces places for pests and diseases to hide. Leave ALL tallest LIGHT COLLECTING fan leaves on top. These babies give you the yield and density, they are the leaves you want, its big ones that make energy for large buds, not tiny sugar leaves. I sometimes leave lower fans if they clearly collect light. Never strip a plant all at once :) Final and total fan leaf removal last few days of flush. Everyone has their style I think it works well.
Mimosa Week 4 v44CF94DA-6C5A-413C-B978-24A8536D6090.jpeg

Last edited:

H.A.F.

a.k.a. Rusty Nails