A Few Guitars

printer

Super Active Member
I am an amateur luthier, I kind of fell into making guitars by accident. A guy I worked with was retiring and he plays guitar and was looking for a little amp. I thought I could build him one and use some electrical odds and ends from around work. In the end I did not get it done in time, or rather I was not happy with the sound yet. So I thought, what the hell, play around with the stuff until I get tired with it. Ended up buying a guitar to hear what they sounded like. While listening to an old Gibson amp from the 30's on YouTube I looked at the side and they had a link to a cigar box guitar. I have heard of them but never heard them before, click.

So there is this 10 year old kid with not much more than a stick with three strings on a cigar box wailing away. I thought, "Even I can make one of those." So I did. Things would have been great if I left it at that but always being curious I wondered what if I made a hollow electric solid body shaped guitar with a thin top and use it acoustically? So I did, the neck was built like a real guitar neck, truss rod and all. The body was pine glued together and routered out. The top probably could not take the pull of a set of strings so I made it with a floating bridge and the strings held by a tailpiece like an archtop guitar. And when I strung it up it sounded better than I expected. But it falls just short of sounding like a real acoustic guitar. What the heck, go all the way, make a real acoustic.